HomeSportSoccerKhune scoops four awards

Khune scoops four awards


JOHANNESBURG — Kaizer Chiefs captain and goalkeeper Itumeleng Khune scooped the major prizes with four awards at the Premier Soccer League Awards held at Gold Reef City on Sunday.


Khune won Footballer of the Season, Premiership Player’s Player of the Season, Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season and Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament.

Together with the trophies, Khune took home R575 000 in prize money.

PSL acting CEO Cambridge Mokanyane highlighted the performance of Khune throughout the season.

“We would like to congratulate all the individuals who won this season especially Itumeleng Khune who has been truly outstanding this season,” said Mokanyane. “This is an epic way to finish what has been a successful 2012/13 season,”

The full list of winners is as follows:
Footballer of the Season:

R250 000
Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars)
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs) –WINNER
Robert Ng’ambi (Platinum Stars)

Absa Premiership
Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season — R150 000
Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars)
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs) — WINNER
Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season — R50 000
Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates)
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs) — WINNER
Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season — R50 000
Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars)
Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United) — WINNER
Bongani Zungu (University of Pretoria)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season — R75 000
Cavin Johnson (Platinum Stars)
Clinton Larsen (Bloemfontein Celtic)
Stuart Baxter (Kaizer Chiefs) — WINNER

Absa Premiership Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season — R50 000
Mor Diouf (SuperSport United) — WINNER
Fikru Lemessa (Free State Stars)
Sifiso Myeni (Orlando Pirates)

Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer — R25 000
Katlego Mashego (Moroka Swallows)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament — R125 000
Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs) — WINNER
Edwin Gyimah (SuperSport United)
Walter Maponyane (United FC)

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Tournament — R40 000
Edwin Gyimah (SuperSport United)
Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars) — WINNER
Siyabulela Shai (United FC)

Telkom Knockout
Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament — R200 000
Joel Mogorosi (Bloemfontein Celtic) — WINNER
Ruzigh Gamaldien (Bloemfontein Celtic)
Thabo Ntethe (Bloemfontein Celtic)

MTN8 Last Man Standing — R150 000
Bennett Chenene (Moroka Swallows)
Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows) — WINNER
George Nergadzi (Moroka Swallows)

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading