HomeSportNew Sports Commission board announced

New Sports Commission board announced


A new Sports and Recreation Commission (SRC) board has been appointed to run the supreme sport regulatory body for the next three years.


Education, Sports, Arts and Culture minister David Coltart announced the new board yesterday which saw Bulawayo lawyer Joseph James being retained to lead the eight-member board.

James played football for Bulawayo Wanderers and Rangers in the Southern Region Division One.

Edward Silwela — an experienced athletics administrator — has been retained from the previous board together with female golfer Jessimine Nyakatawa, former president of the Zimbabwe Ladies’ Golf Union.

Nyakatawa is one of three women on the board together with Zimbabwe Rugby Union vice-president and women’s rugby chairperson Aisha Tsimba and Miriam Mushayi.

Dave Ellman-Brown, former Zimbabwe Cricket chief executive, has also been retained on the board while Hockey Association of Zimbabwe president Farai Kanyangarara has been included.

The Zimbabwe chef de mission to the 2008 Beijing Paralympic Games, Obadiah Moyo, makes a return to the SRC board.
Moyo has special interests in people with disabilities and holds a master’s degree in international relations.

“I am pleased to announce, having consulted with His Excellency the President RG Mugabe who has given his approval, the appointment in terms of Section 5 of the Sports and Recreation Commission Act, of the new Sports and Recreation Commission Board,” said Coltart in a statement yesterday.

The board has been appointed for a three-year term with effect from yesterday.

The members of the board are: Joseph James (Chairperson), Edward Siwela, Jessimine Nyakatawa, Obediah T Moyo, Farai Kanyangarara, David Ellman-Brown, Aisha Tsimba, Miriam Mushayi

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading


Comments are closed.