HomeNewsBattlelines drawn at Nama

Battlelines drawn at Nama


THE National Arts Council of Zimbabwe (NACZ) yesterday announced nominees for the 12th edition of the National Arts Merit Awards (Nama) scheduled for February 16 at Large City Hall in Bulawayo.

Entertainment Reporter

Regardless of the changes that have been effected on the categories, the awards remain a far cry from the ideal model crafted by various stakeholders at a number of stakeholders meetings that were held last year.

Commendable is the inclusion of comedy in the spoken word category which still falls short as it only focuses on stand-up comedy.

The full list of nominees is as follow:

  • Dance

Outstanding Dance group

Magesh , IYASA, National Ballet

Outstanding Female Dancer
Melany Caruthers , Loveness Mambakwa
Siphephiso Magonya
Outstanding Male Dancer
Peter Lenso, Arthur Ndlovu, David Machowa
Outstanding Choreographer
Tinashe Ngwenya, Alfonis Ndlovu, Brian Geza

  • Theatre

Outstanding Actor
Teddy Mangava, Charles Matare, Zenzo Nyathi

Outstanding Actress
Rumbidzai Karize, Caroline Mashingaidze, Nothando Nobengula

Outstanding Theatrical production
Eclipsed, Wusiku, When Angels Weep

Outstanding Director
Zane Lucas, Eunice Tava, Styx Mhlanga

  • Visual Arts

Outstanding Mix Media Work
Humming Bird, Melodies from the Mermaid, Ecosystem

Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work
Cloud Nine, Ceremonial Dancers,
Morning Light

Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work
Unto Us a Child Is Born, Family in Mind, Never Ending

Outstanding Exhibition
Spirit of Friendship, The Cycle, Inhlama Spoken Word

Outstanding Comedian
Clive Chigubhu, Carl Joshua Ncube, Ntandoyenkosi Moyo
Outstanding Poet
Tatenda Chinoda, Sithandazile Dube,
Isaac Lambada

  • Music

Outstanding Female Musician
Plaxedes Wenyika, Hope Masike,
Cindy Munyavi

Outstanding Male Musician
Sniper Storm, Knox, Sulumani Chimbetu

Outstanding Song
Gochi Gochi by Jah Prayzah, Love YeMusoja by Sniper Storm, Ndinonyara by Knox

Outstanding Album
Love YeMusoja by Donald Chirisa, Shongwe by Blessing Shumba, Syllabus by Sulumani Chimbetu

  • Film And Television

Outstanding Actor
James “Jingo” Mariseni, Lloyd Kurima, Cyril Sadat Sanhewe

Outstanding Actress
Qeqeshiwe Mntambo, Sara Mpofu,
Locadia Matenga

Outstanding Music Video
Ruvimbo by Energy Mutodi, Amai Bhoyi by Jutal, Mativenga by Roki

Outstanding Screen Production (Television)
Delete, One family Can and Mazikhethela

Outstanding Screen Production (Full Length film)
The Kiss, Suku and Simbimbino

Outstanding Screen Production (Short Film)
Inhlanhla, Ivevane and Mind games Literary Arts

Outstanding fiction Book
Taking The Lead by Sibongile Mnkandla
Chioniso, And Other Stories by Shimmer Chinodya and The Incubus by Samachai Kawengo

Outstanding Children’s book
Panic On Fun Day by Farai Nyandoro
My Daughter by Albert Nyathi
Meri Nebhutsu Tsvuku by Ignatius Mabasa

Outstanding First Creative Published Work
From Where The Wind Blows by Oliver Nyambi and Tendai Mangena (eds)
Once A Lover Always A Fool by Philani Amadeus Nyoni

Outstanding Journalist (Print)
Margaret Chinowaita, Raisedon Baya, Mthandazo Dube

Outstanding Journalist (Television)
Sifiso Mpofu, Terrence Mapurisana, Leonard Mabvara
Outstanding Online Media
The Writers International Network, Three Men On A Boat, Zimbojam

Outstanding Journalist (Radio)
No nominees
Special Awards

Outstanding Promoter of the Year
C & A Entertainment
Brumat t/a Horizon Bar and Restaurant
Chipaz Promotions

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading