HomeSportCricketPrice, Vitori out of limited overs

Price, Vitori out of limited overs


ZIMBABWE Cricket on Wednesday announced squads for the tour of the West Indies which begins next month.


The major surprise was the omission of veteran left-arm spinner Ray Price from the limited-overs squads, while left-arm paceman Brian Vitori was dropped from all three forms of the game altogether.

Leg-spinner Graeme Cremer has retained his place in the Test squad, but was overlooked for the limited-overs squads in favour of uncapped Mashonaland Eagles all-rounder Tino Mutombodzi and Mountaineers leg-spinner Natsai Mushangwe.

Mushangwe is the leading wicket-taker in terms of spin bowlers in this season’s Logan Cup, with 20 at 21,95 apiece.

Mutombodzi has taken 11, as well as scoring 200 runs, including a century.

The pace-bowling attack is again led by Chris Mpofu and Kyle Jarvis, currently playing for Central Districts in New Zealand where he has had mixed results.

Keegan Meth and Tendai Chatara complete Zimbabwe’s pace battery for the tour and were both preferred to Ed Rainsford and Tinashe Panyangara, both of whom have featured prominently in this season’s Logan Cup and had been named in the preliminary squad.

Regis Chakabva has seen off Forster Mutizwa, Charles Coventry and emerging Southern Rocks wicket-keeper Richmond Mutumbami and will be the sole gloveman named in either squad.

In the batting department, Sean Williams marks his return to the international arena with a berth in the Test squad, while Mountaineers middle-order batsman Timycen Maruma, previously renowned more for his leg-spin bowling, has been rewarded for a solid domestic season and therefore finds a place in the Test squad.

Chamu Chibhabha, an opening batsman who also bowls useful medium-pace, is selected solely in the limited-overs squad, as is Craig Ervine.

The team is expected to go into camp tomorrow ahead of the tour which will run from February 20 to March 20.

Judging from the two squads, Zimbabwe will look to their spinners to contain the star-studded West Indies led by Chris Gayle, while also hoping that the seamers will make the best of the seam friendly conditions expected in the Caribbean.
The batting line-up will be under pressure against an all-out quality pace and swing bowling attack led by Fidel Edwards and Ravi Rampaul, Darren Sammy and also includes Dwayne Bravo and Andre Russell.

Test squad: Brendan Taylor (captain), Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Graeme Cremer, Kyle Jarvis, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Tino Mawoyo, Keegan Meth, Chris Mpofu, Ray Price, Vusi Sibanda, Prosper Utseya, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams.

Limited-overs squad: Brendan Taylor (captain), Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza, Tino Mawoyo, Keegan Meth, Chris Mpofu, Natsai Mushangwe, Tino Mutombodzi, Vusi Sibanda, Prosper Utseya, Malcolm Waller.

Matsikenyeri rescues Eagles

A RESILIENT effort by Mashonaland Eagles’ middle order against an in-form Tuskers pace attack set up an exciting finish ahead of today’s third day of their Logan Cup encounter at Harare Sports Club yesterday.

Eagles skipper Stuart Matsikenyeri (78) and Regis Chakabva (79) combined to steer their team closer to Tuskers’ 268 first innings target, as the hosts recovered from a top-order collapse to post a fighting 247 for nine.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading