HomeSportAthleticsMore success for Juwawo, Nyahora

More success for Juwawo, Nyahora


WIRIMAI Juwawo and Rutendo Nyahora recorded yet more success when they both won the Nkulumane Spar 10km Road Race in their respective categories yesterday.

Report by Sukholuhle Mthethwa

Only last week they triumphed again in the Nkulumane 10km Fun Run sponsored by Old Mutual.

Yesterday, Nyahora successfully defended the title she won last year, clocking 31 minutes 10 seconds, breaking her last year’s record of 32 minutes 41 seconds.

Juwawo was first in the men’s section in 27 minutes 24 seconds also beating last year’s record of 27 minutes 33.36 seconds set by Lewis Masunda who did not take part in the race due to injury.

Juwawo and Nyahora pocketed R5 000 each for their achievements.

Nyahora said she was happy with her achievement but was a bit surprised it was that easy.

“I feel very happy that I have won the race again,” said Nyahora. “I was expecting stiff competition from athletes like Sharon Tavengwa, Olivia Chitate and Constance Nyasango but they did not give much of a challenge. I have been running well since January and I am happy that I have finished my last race for this year with another victory,” she said.

Zim Steel athlete Elmore Sibanda was second in the men’s section in 27 minutes 53 seconds while Elijah Mabhunu came third in 28 minutes 21 seconds.

Nkosiyazi Sibanda (Blanket Mine) was fourth in 28 minutes 30 seconds.
Top Zimbabwe athlete Tavengwa was runner up in the women‘s category after she clocked 32 minutes 26 seconds while Zimbabwe Republic Police athlete Chitate was third in 38 minutes 16 seconds with Nyasango claiming fourth position in 39 minutes 47 seconds.

The runners up in the senior men and women’s section received R3 000 each while the third and fourth placed athlete in the men and women categories pocketed R1 500 and R500 rand each respectively.

Nobukhosi Dube (Sparrows) scooped the junior women’s award finishing the race in 38 minutes 03 seconds while Rosetta Mandebvu was second in 38 minutes 14 seconds to walk away with R1 500 and R1 000 respectively.

Tendai Zimuto clinched the junior men’s category in 29 minutes 42 seconds while Kudakwashe Shama from Mutare was runner up in 29 minutes 54 seconds.

Magadaline Madzivire (Racers Association) was first in the wheelchair women’s section in 54 minutes 51 seconds with Elford Moyo from Danhiko scooping the men’s award in 28 minutes 16 seconds.
The race started from Nkulumane Spar to Bellevue Spar and took the same route back to Nkulumane Spar.

R50 000 rand was donated to Silokuthula Orphanage, Qinisani Orphan Care and Zimbabwe Parents of Handicapped Children Association.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading