HomeSportAthleticsMasunda in doubt for Nkulumane Spar 10km race

Masunda in doubt for Nkulumane Spar 10km race


MORE than 150 athletes are expected to take part in this year’s Nkulumane Spar 10km Fun Run Road Race with last year’s winner Luwis Masunda not likely to take part after limping out of Sunday’s Old Mutual race at Nkulumane Complex.


The race is on Sunday.

Bulawayo Athletic Board secretary Dailes Bingadadi yesterday said the response from athletes had been tremendous for the race which starts at Nkulumane Spar at Sekusile shopping centre and to Bellevue Spar and finishes off back at Nkulumane.

However, Bingadadi said Masunda, who won last year’s race in 27 minutes 33, 36secs, had been advised to rest.

“The response has been great. We have had a number of enquiries from athletes and we expect to surpass last year in terms of the number of athletes that are taking part. We are expecting 150 plus in this year’s competition,” Bingadadi said.

“I am not too sure if Masunda will be taking part in this one after he limped out of Sunday’s race, but most of the athletes who were in the old Mutual race are expected to feature in the Spar race as well,” she said.

Wirimai Juwawo, who won the Spar Race in 2010 before ceding the title to Masunda, came first in the Old Mutual 10km race in 29 minutes 50,03secs on Sunday and could be back for the Spar race on Sunday.

Rutendo Nyahora, the Spar race champion in the senior women’s section, is likely to be defending her title on Sunday under challenge from Sharon Tavengwa and Samukeliso Moyo.

Nyahora was home first in the Old Mutual race in 34 minutes 38 seconds. George Majaji is expected at the race.

The winners of this year’s race senior categories will take home R5 000 each, while the juniors have a prize tag of R1 500.
The wheelchair section has a winning prize of R1 500 for both men and women.

Masunda was home first in 27 minutes 33,36secs to scoop the first prize of R3 500, but failed to beat Juwawo’s record of 27 minutes in 2010.

Nyahora crossed the line first in the women’s section in 32 minutes 41secs and received R3 500, but could not account for Tavengwa’s 2010 record of 32 minutes 06,48secs.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading