HomeSportMotor RacingToyota Three-Hour Endurance Race goes international

Toyota Three-Hour Endurance Race goes international


THIS year’s Toyota Castrol Three-Hour Endurance Race at the Breedon Everard Race Track — popularly known as the Vic Falls Road Circuit — is expected to be bigger and better than the two previous editions, with drivers from England and South Africa expected.


The competition, to be held on December 1, is expected to attract 40 drivers and 20 riders coming from Zimbabwe and from the region.

Spokesperson of the Bulawayo Motoring Club — organisers of the event — Leonora Young is confident that this year’s race would

be out of this world and for the first time would feature a one-hour motorbike endurance race, which had previously been a demonstration.

“There is a lot of interest in this year’s Three-Hour Endurance, and we’re gearing up for a really fantastic day’s racing,” said Young.

“So far we’re looking at around 40 drivers and 20 riders coming from Bulawayo, Harare, South Africa and Botswana.”

Darren and Brett Winterboer, who won last year’s race in a BMW 330i, would be expected to defend their title under stiff challenge from 2010 winner Eric Head and Richard Robinson driving in their Lotus Super 7, modified with a Yamaha R1 motorbike engine.

Stuart Young, who has also been making a strong appearance in the National main Circuit Races, would be a top contender for this year’s first prize.

Former Harare driver Anthony Brandt would be travelling from England to drive with Kevin Steenkamp from Harare in a Ford Sierra XR4i 2,8 V6 with Ian Howden in his Subaru sharing the race with legendary driver Gary Kirk.

From Cape Town, South Africa, veteran driver John Amm would be driving with ex-Bulawayo Eric Salamon in a Lotus 23 replica, while Tony and Rory Sharp in an Alfa Guiletta 2,0 would be back again from South Africa to participate in the race. Julian van Vuuren would be entering in his Honda, as will Jimmy Zevgolis in his VW Golf.

On the motor-bike race would be Shaun Whyte, who has won several Zimbabwe championships and has been instrumental in getting motorcycle racing up and running again in Zimbabwe with the start of the Megelli 250cc series, is expected in the country.

From Bulawayo Peter Whyte (Jr) and (Sr) and Dave Mouat are also in the bike race while in the Superbikes class from Bulawayo are Fuzzy Walker on a Kawasaki 1000 and Ian Gutherless on a Suzuki TI100s.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading