HomeSportRugbyHunduza in line for three NRL awards

Hunduza in line for three NRL awards


THE rise of young Harare Sports Club lively wing Stephen Hunduza was confirmed yesterday when he was nominated in three different categories for the Lion Lager National Rugby League Awards to be held in the capital on November 9.

Report by Daniel Nhakaniso

Hunduza has been nominated in three categories for the Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Most Disciplined Player following consistently outstanding performances for champions Harare Sports Club.

The nominations cap a dream season for Hunduza, who helped Harare Sports Club end their title drought by wresting the national championship from rivals Red Seal Old Georgians, who had won the previous two editions.

The performances led to Hunduza — a product of the famed Mbare Rugby Academy — receive a call-up to the Sables side, which is currently preparing for the upcoming Tri-Nation tournament in Namibia where they will take on the hosts and Spain. Hunduza has also made several appearances for the Zimbabwe Sevens Rugby team’s development side, affectionately known as the Goshawks.

In the Player of the Year category, Hunduza is one of the only two nominations together with his teammate and captain at Harare Sports Club, Daniel Hondo.

The Matabeleland Warriors duo of Lloyd Machanjaire and Oswald Lynx join Hunduza in the running for the Most Disciplined Player Award category. Old Georgians’ Alfred Ruwanda, Hunduza, his teammate Shingi Chirimuuta and Old Hararians’ Tariro Mashongamhende are in the running for the Rookie of the Year award.

Former Harare Sports Club flank Shingi Mpofu, who moved to Scottish side AYR towards the end of the season, has also been nominated in the Forward of the Year category.  He is joined by Old Hararians and Sables skipper Costa Dinha, his teammate Takunda Chifokoyo, the Warriors duo of Biselele Tshamala and the Old Georgians’ pair of Jacques Leitao and Fortune Chipendu.

Harare Sports Club coach Nsikelelo Sibanda and his opposite number Reuben Kumpasa are also in the running for the Coach of the Year award.

Meanwhile, the Sables’ preparations for the upcoming Tri-Nations series in Namibia will enter the home stretch today when the team goes into camp today.

Sables Provisional Squad: Tapiwa Mangezi, Rory Jackson, Jonathan Jackson,Pieter Joubert, Vakai Hove, Norman Mukondiwa, Royal Mwale, Raymond Dzvairo, Costa Dinha, Jan Ferreira, Tolerance Zishe, Soup Chikobvu, Fortune Chipendu, Biselele Tshamala, Fidel Nyabusha, Zvikomborero Murangari, Jacques Leitao, Lucky Sithole, Takunda Chifokoyo, Scotty Jones, Philemon Machisa, Ryan Sparky, Lenience Tambwera, Tichafara Makwanya, Wes Mbanje, Japhet Ndebele, Daniel Hondo, Daniel Robertson, Shayne Makombe, Gavin Nyawata, Tangai Nemadire, Gardner Nechironga, Stephen Hunduza, Simbarashe Chirimuuta

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading