Habana named Saru Player of the Year

CAPE TOWN — Springbok winger Bryan Habana was on Thursday named South African Rugby (Saru) Player of the Year for the third time, while DHL Western Province picked up a brace of awards as their Absa Currie Cup and Vodacom Cup success was recognised at a glittering ceremony at the Cape Town International Airport.

Report by Supersport

The Sharks also scored off the field, with three awards heading to Durban. Habana (29) was rewarded for his striking form as he helped the DHL Stormers to the top of the log in Vodacom Super Rugby and the semi-finals of that competition, while extending his record try-scoring streak with the Springboks to 47.

The winners and finalists (where applicable) in all the categories are:
Saru Rugby Player of the Year
Winner: Bryan Habana

Absa Young Player of the Year
Winner: Eben Etzebeth

Absa Team of the Year
Winner: The Sharks (Absa Currie Cup)

Absa Coach of the Year
Winner: John Plumtree (The Sharks)

Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Year
Winner: Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)

Absa Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year
Winner: Deon Fourie (DHL Western Province)

Absa Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year
Winner: Hansie Graaff (Griffons)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year

Winner: Demetri Catrakilis (DHL Western Province)

SARPA Players’ Player of the Year:
JP Pietersen (The Sharks)
Springbok Sevens Player of the Year: Cecil Afrika

SuperSport Try of the Year Winner: Bryan Habana (Springboks v All Blacks, The Rugby Championship).

SA Under-20 Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

Coca-Cola Craven Week Player of the Tournament: Sergeal Petersen (Eastern Province)

Marriott Referee Award: Jaco Peyer
Women’s Achiever of the Year: Yolanda Meiring (Blue Bulls)

SARU National Club Championship Player of the Tournament
: Nico Luus (Pretoria Police)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *