HomeSportCricketZimbabwe Cricket awards date set

Zimbabwe Cricket awards date set


ZIMBABWE Cricket (ZC) has set November 10 as the date for the country’s annual national cricket awards ceremony which will  have two new categories, namely the People’s Choice Award and the Players’ Choice Award, in addition to traditional categories from previous editions.

Report by Daniel Nhakaniso Sports Reporter

The Zimbabwe Cricket annual cricket awards are meant to recognise achievements attained during the 2011-2012 season.

ZC spokesperson Shingai Rhuhwaya confirmed in an interview with NewsDay Sport yesterday, adding preparations were now at an advanced stage.

“We are now in the process of finalising preparations before the event. This year’s awards are unique in that we are adding two new categories — the People’s Choice Award and the Players’ Choice Award,” said Rhuhwaya.

“Cricket fans will be able to nominate players of their choice through a platform which we will create through one of the local radio stations.”

The ZC Annual Awards were created to pay special tribute to leading cricketers of the day and honour those who had played a significant role in administering and developing the sport in Zimbabwe.

During the season under review,  Zimbabwe only had one tour on the Future Tour Programmes organised by International Cricket Council (ICC).

In their only official tour to New Zealand, Zimbabwe failed to register a win.

There was, however, some success for the team in the unofficial Twenty20 series against South Africa and Bangladesh, which were followed up by a dismal campaign at the ICC World Twenty20.

National team skipper Brendan Taylor was the biggest winner at last year’s awards ceremony after being named the country’s cricketer and batsman of the year.

Taylor will be in the running for another award this year as his name together with that of Hamilton Masakadza and Tino Mawoyo is likely to feature in the batsman of the year category.

Categories: Cricketer of the Year, Batsman of the Year, Bowler of the Year, Rookie of the Year,  Rookie of the Year – Women, Most Promising Cricketer of the Year,  Cricketer of the Year – Women, Best Schools’ Cricketer, Franchise Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Schools Administrator of the Year, Best Franchise Administrator of the Year, Groundsman of the Year, Scorer of the Year, Umpire of the Year, People’s Choice Award and the Players’ Choice Award

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading