HomeSportSoccerAsiagate: More banned

Asiagate: More banned


CAPS United’s Taurai Mangwiro, Motor Action gaffer Joey Antipas, Shabanie mentor  and former Warriors gaffer Norman Mapeza have become the latest coaches to be banned from all football activities after they were found guilty of match-fixing.

According to the list of the banned players and officials which has been leaked to the media, Mangwiro, who was appointed Caps United mentor in August, was handed a 10-year ban for his role after Monomotapa’s trip to Malaysia in 2000 where they posed as the national team.

Also banned with him are club owner Solomon Mugavazi (five years) and team manager Clayton Munemo (10 years).

Antipas and Mapeza got five year and six-month bans respectively. Masomere was suspended for two years while Mamelodi Sundowns striker Nyasha Mushekwi and Pretoria University and former Dynamos goalkeeper Washington Arubi received a one- year ban each.

However, it appears Caps United were the most affected with four of their key players — Nqobile Mpala (then at Highlanders) Charles Chiutsa, Tendai Samanja and Asani Nhongo — all handed five-year bans.

Mangwiro had turned things around at Caps United since he arrived from Monomotapa. On Saturday, the Harare giants booked a semi-final berth in the Mbada Diamonds Cup after dispatching army side Buffaloes 2-0.

The Green Machine will now face old enemy Dynamos for the right to play in the final.

Already former Warriors mentor Sunday Chidzambwa — the most decorated coach in the country who led Zimbabwe to their maiden Africa Cup of Nations finals in Tunisia in 2004 — has been banned for life from all football activities after being found guilty of match-fixing.

Former Monomotapa coach Rodwell Dhlakama was also slapped with a life ban.

Former Zifa chief executive officer Henrietta Rushwaya has been banned for life.

The bans follow an independent investigation headed by retired High Court judge Ahmed Ebrahim, which handed over the report to Zifa last Tuesday with various recommendations made.

No immediate comment was available from Zifa president Cuthbert Dube, who was not picking his mobile, while chief executive officer Jonathan Mashingaidze’s mobile was not available.

However, a source said: “That list should have come from the final report that we gave all affected players and officials, but we have not yet finalised anything. There could be changes and additions to that.”

And the addition is likely to be former Highlanders coach and Under-20 mentor Methembe Ndlovu, while a number of players would have their bans reduced.

One official, though, is likely to have his ban increased.

Six months
Norman Mapeza (official)

One year
Washington Arubi, Nyasha Mushekwi

Two years effective
Beavan Chikaka, George Karimupfumbi, George Magariro, Gilbert Mapemba, Benjamin Marere, Philip Marufu, Luke Masomere (official), Augustine Mbara, Tsungai Mudzamiri, Mernard Mupera, Progress Musepa, Ashley Rambanapasi, Tafadzwa Rusike, Ali Sadiki, Edward Tembo, Daniel Veremu, Ramson Zhuwawo

Two years with one year suspended for two years
Qadr Amin, Tawanda Mandicha

Three years
Eusebio Manuwere, Mtshumayeli Moyo, Johannes Ngodzo

Five years
Nicholas Alifandika, Joey Antipas (official), Khumbulani Banda, Abel Chimusaru, Vorster Chitema, Charles Chiutsa, Tendai Gwata, Daniel Kamunenga, Thabani Kamusoko, Makai Kawashu, Ndumiso Khanye, William Kupera, Casper Machona, Tapiwa Mafunga, Tapiwa Mangezi, Fidelis Mangezi, Godfrey Mangove, Brian Mapfumo, Lawrence Mdhluli, Nqobile Mpala, Solomon Mugavazi (official), Artwell Mukandi, Josh Munthali (journalist), Ocean Mushure, Zephaniah Ngodzo, Asani Nhongo, Tawanda Nyamadzawo, Darryl Nyandoro, Tendai Samanja, Christopher Semakweri, Ernest Sibanda (official), Luckmore Simango, Daniel Zokoto

Seven years
Tafadzwa Dube

Eight years
Lionel Mutizwa

Ten years
Taurai Mangwiro (official), Zenzo Moyo (official), Clayton Munemo (official), Bekithemba Ndlovu

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading