HomeSportAthleticsHarare names squad

Harare names squad


Harare Province has named what looks like a strong athletics team for the National Youth Games set for end of August in Bindura.

Coach Silas Muringani yesterday announced a 38-member team led by Junior Sportsperson of the Year Tinashe Mutanga.

Another notable face in the team is Jonathan Brown, who won the 100m Nash athletics championships in Plumtree, early this year. Brown clocked 10,63secs in romping to victory while Mutanga, who won a gold medal at the Confederation of African Athletics Southern Region Championship in Namibia early this year, had a personal best of 10,41secs.

With the impressive time, Mutanga qualified for the ongoing World Junior Championships in Barcelona, but could not travel due to financial difficulties. In the girls’ category, Harare Province will be banking on the exploits of Tsitsi Mahachi, Buhle Geza and Rachel Majoni, who won a bronze medal at the Namibia games. The team trooped into camp at Churchill High School yesterday and will not break until the start of the games.

“All the athletes we selected managed to surpass our selection standards. But I’m not saying the selection process is closed, it’s an ongoing thing. Some might be dropped due to injuries and other developments, but our hope is to keep this team,” said Muringani yesterday.

Harare are the defending champions in athletics and Muringani wants to maintain the stronghold.

Track events — Boys: T Mutanga, T Chitambira, T Javangwe, M Mazhazhate, J Brown, J Musiyavangwe, A Munyoro, T Chindova, S Nhete, G Machawa, A Simango, J Takuva, F Ackimu, F Shamhu, L Siyamutema, M Muringayi, J Chibanda, O Chivhange, H Zvoushe.

Field Events — E Chitsime, F Chabvamuteru, T Mpofu, T Makumbinde, B Benhura.

Track Events — Girls: T Mahachi, B Geza, P Gadzikwa, M Warambwa, N Kambari, D Dzaura, E Muchemwa, M Makadzange, E Matibiri, V Tadziripa.

Field Events — T Moyo, K Chawasema, M Makoto, N Dengenge.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading