HomeLocal NewsMDC-T elects its National Council representatives

MDC-T elects its National Council representatives


Chitungwiza and Mzilikazi senators James Makore and Matson Hlalo respectively were last week elected by the MDC-T caucus alongside Mutare Central MP Innocent Gonese to represent legislators in the partys National Council.

Initially, there were five nominees who included Bulawayo Central MP Dorcas Sibanda and Southerton MP Gift Chimanikire.

In the election, Gonese emerged victorious with 44 votes followed by Makore with 41 votes and Hlalo garnered 36. Chimanikire got 10 and Sibanda nine. As a result, Gonese will lead the team.

The three who garnered the highest number of votes Gonese, Makore and Hlalo were declared National Council representatives.

The election saw Gonese bouncing back after losing a bid to retain the post at the MDC-T national congress in Bulawayo last year.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading