HomeSportMotor RacingNational Main Circuit returns to Byo

National Main Circuit returns to Byo


Motorsport enthusiasts are in for a treat as Bulawayo hosts the National Main Circuit Race at the Falls Road Circuit this Saturday.

The race will be the opener of the 2012 season, the first in years the race will be held outside Harare.

Spokesperson of the Bulawayo Motoring Club (BMC) Leonora Young said: “As motor sport is rejuvenated not only in Bulawayo but throughout the country and beyond, race organisers are expecting a record number of competitors, with close to 30 drivers anticipated for the series launch,” she said.

“Extensive damage to the Falls Road Circuit and subsequent renovations to the track and surrounding facilities prevented the Nationals from being held in Bulawayo for the last three years. But a successful race season in 2011, culminating in the legendary Three-Hour Endurance Race in December, has put the circuit firmly back on the racing map,” she said.

Drivers will compete in four different classes of sport and saloon cars, opening up the field to as wide a range of drivers as possible, with the race events culminating in the Toyota-sponsored handicap, the main race of the day.

The Nationals, which are run throughout the year, will feature two legs in Bulawayo and four in Harare, with racing drivers competing for the prestigious Champion of Champions title, to be announced at the end of the year.

The title will be awarded to the driver who accumulates the most points through all disciplines, including motorbike, car and rally racing.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading