HomeNewsFive countries celebrate Kaza

Five countries celebrate Kaza


The Kavango Zambezi Trans-frontier Conservation Area (Kaza TFCA), which was launched at Katima Mulilo, Namibia, last week is set to become a major driver of sustainable economic development and one of the world’s biggest conservation areas covering over 444 000km² .

Kaza TFCA is situated in the Okavango and Zambezi river basins where the borders of Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe converge.

The area is endowed with 36 national parks, game reserves, community conservancies and game management areas.

This will also include Caprivi Strip, Chobe National Park, the Okavango Delta and the Victoria Falls, one of the Seven Wonders of the World.

The five Environment ministers from Zimbabwe, Namibia, Zambia, Angola and Botswana emphasised the need to accelerate implementation of the Kaza TFCA programmes.

Environment and Natural Resources minister Francis Nhema said there was also need to introduce a uni-visa for these countries as this would encourage community participation in the conservation programmes in Kaza TFCA.

Nhema said Kaza TFCA would no doubt become a premier world tourism favourite with an expected injection of €20 million from Germany to kick-start the Kaza programmes.

“We hope that communities around this area will benefit from this programme. We are looking at tourism that protects wildlife and hence we expect these communities to be guardians of the environment,” Nhema said.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading