Swimmers for Mozambique tourney announced


Local swimmers are in for regular competition after the Zimbabwe Aquatic Union named a 21-member team for next month’s (African Swimming Confederation) CANA Zone III and IV Swimming Championships in Mozambique.

The announcement of the squad came on the same day as another 11-member junior swimming team left the country for Port Elizabeth, South Africa, for the level three swimming championships starting tomorrow.

The CANA Zone III and IV Swimming Championships have been slated for the Zimpeto Olympic Pool in Maputo from April 25-28.

The regional developmental gala will attract swimmers from countries such as South Africa, Egypt, Algeria, Burundi, Ethiopia, Tanzania, Djibouti, the Comoros, Rwanda, Madagascar, Mauritius, Congo, Sudan, India, Somalia and Seychelles.
Zimbabwe Aquatic Union secretary-general Mary Kloppers said some swimmers pulled out of the team due to other commitments.

“Initially CANA had indicated the gala would take place on March 26, but unfortunately, the gala was moved to April instead of the traditional January. Our team size has therefore been reduced by half as most families will be on holiday in April. Added to this are the huge costs,” said Kloppers.

Zimbabwe squad for SA Level Three Gala: James Isemonger, Sloane Marshall, Andresious Cyprianos, James Lawson, Luke van Breda, Nicholas Burnett, Aiden Onorati, Chase Onorati, Tarryn Rennie, Megan Carey-Smith, Mieke Koen.

Zimbabwe Team for CANA Zone III and IV : Nyasha Mukunuweshora, Luke Van Breda, Yemurai Shangwa, Liam Davis, Brendon Cyprianos, Dale Bruce, Rhyder Quinlan, Takudzwa Nyamutsamba, Natasha Lawson, Nicholas Burnett, Sarah Hawgood, Misty Batchelor, Andresious Cyprianos, Lorna Doorman, Kim Bellringer Ashby Tink, Cerise Dingiswayo, Holly Brown, Natalie de Chassart, Trevor Price, Frank Lang