Quelaton name provisional squad


Quelaton have come up with a 22-member provisional squad they hope will stamp an indelible mark on top-flight football in their debut season in the Castle Lager Premier Soccer League.

Quelaton lost 2-0 to Shabanie Mine at Maglas Stadium on Sunday in a pre-season friendly match and yesterday coach Thulani Sibanda said they were hoping to add a few experienced players to the squad.

The Premiership newcomers do not have in their plans former player Njabulo “Tshiki” Ncube, Sizalobuhle Dube and Patrick Mboma, who are not in the makeshift squad.

Most of the players in the squad were part of the team that beat Highlanders 2-1 in a friendly match at Luveve Stadium and the technical team has basically stuck to the team that got them promoted into the Premiership.

The team has captain Innocent Kutsanzira, Peter Moyo, Tedius Mugumanya, Eddy Nkulungo and Timothy January in midfield while the defence is made up of Wilberforce Chiramba, Moses Majika, Zibusiso Dube, Proud Zireni, Prince Ncube and Brendon Moyo.

Mhleli Sibanda, Phakamani Dube, Dalubuhle Maphosa, Gracious Nleya and MacClive Phiri have also been drafted into the midfield.
Sibanda yesterday said they had drafted in two goalkeepers Freedom Magaba and Winston Chiwetu.

Only four strikers had been included in the team and they include their last year’s top goal scorer Kundishora Chakanyuka, Tedius Mugumanya, Maxwell Mavhuto and Fortune Nkomazana.

“These guys have made it into the team. We have one defender, two strikers and one goalkeeper who will be joining us during the week but I cannot give you names. But I think by Thursday (tomorrow) we should be coming up with our final 30-member squad,” Sibanda said.

At the weekend, Quelaton will play another friendly match with Division One side Ntabazinduna at Fairbridge.

In their first friendly match, they were thrashed 6-0 by Dynamos in Gweru.

The squad
Goalkeepers: F Magaba, W Chiwetu
Defenders: W Chiramba, M Majika, Z Dube, S Dube, P Zireni, P Ncube, B Moyo
Midfielders: I Kutsanzira, P Moyo, E Nkulungo, T January, M Sibanda, P Dube, D Maphosa, G Nleya, M Phiri
Strikers: T Mugumanya, K Chakanyuka, M Mavhuto, F Nkomazana