HomeLocal NewsZanu PF officials off sanctions hook

Zanu PF officials off sanctions hook


Fifty-one Zanu PF officials, including two Cabinet ministers, politburo members, the late Solomon Mujuru and journalists from the State media, were on Friday removed from the European Union (EU) sanctions list.

The EU extended the embargo on other party officials for six months.

One hundred and twelve individuals and 11 organisations still considered to be involved in, or associated with policies and activities that undermine human rights, democracy and rule of law, remain on the list.

Zanu PF ministers removed from the embargo are Foreign Affairs minister Simbarashe Mumbengegwi and Justice minister Patrick Chinamasa, who is also one of the party’s negotiators in the Global Political Agreement.

EU head of delegation to Zimbabwe Ambassador Aldo Dell’Ariccia said some of those removed were journalists Reuben Barwe, Judith Makwanya, Pikirayi Deketete, Caesar Zvayi, Happison Muchechetere and Munyaradzi Huni.

Others include former Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe adviser Munyaradzi Kereke, Leo Mugabe, Sikhanyiso Ndlovu and businessmen Billy Rautenbach and Arnold John Bredenkamp.

Dell’Ariccia said the EU resolved to remove the blacklisted persons in recognition of the developments in the roadmap to free and fair elections.

“We came up with this in observation of conditions that demonstrate despite problems there has been progress on the new constitution.

“A draft has been established though a few points are being discussed. Commitment of negotiators and the facilitation team has been there,” he said.

Dell’Ariccia added the EU would only remove President Robert Mugabe from the sanctions list if there is a free and fair election recognised by local, regional and international bodies.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading