HomeSportSoccerNorth Africas lengthy Afcon domination ends

North Africas lengthy Afcon domination ends


LIBREVILLE There will be a different name on the Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) on Sunday and one certainty is that it will not be North African for the first time in a decade.

It was nearly two decades ago that the trophy last reached West Africa, when Nigeria beat Zambia in the 1994 finals.

Two years later, the destination changed when South Africa won it.

But the last time a team from outside North African won the trophy was 10 years ago when Cameroon beat Senegal on penalties in the final to become champions for the fourth time.

Since that victory, the trophy was won by Tunisia in 2004 only for Egypt to then register an unprecedented three straight titles, winning the last finals in 2010 when beating Ghana 1-0 in the final.

The North African domination was the longest reign by any region, and helped Egypt amass a record seven titles three more than their closest rivals, Ghana and Cameroon.

With Egypts surprise failure to qualify to defend their title, it was down to Libya, Morocco and Tunisia to retain the honours for North Africa at this years finals in Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.

Morocco were tipped among the favourites, but they crashed out after two defeats and a slender lone goal victory over Niger.

Tunisia, who were in the same group with the Moroccans, reached the quarter-finals but were knocked out by Ghana 2-1 after extra-time on Sunday.

Meanwhile, Libya failed to squeeze through despite drawing with Zambia and beating hot favourites Senegal in the group stages.

The last 12 months have been challenging for North African football, especially for Libya, Tunisia and Egypt, where the political atmosphere boiled over to usher in new regimes after violent protests and, in the case of Libya, anti-government fighting.

It is true the revolutions in North Africa were very serious and created dangerous times for its citizens, but North African sides still managed to win the continents leading club competitions.

Esperance of Tunisia won the Confederation of African Footballs Champions League, while MAS of Morocco won the Confederation Cup. But Egypts failure to qualify is not entirely because of the revolution.

After starting qualifying on a poor note, drawing with Sierra Leone in Cairo before losing in Niger, the Egyptians realised that the team needed a massive overhaul and injection of new blood.

A change of coach and a complete replacement of the old guard the team that won three successive titles means new names hungry for success are now being groomed.

Tunisia also have exciting players and as seen at this Afcon, the Carthage Eagles if this generation stays together for some time could be in the reckoning again for a second title in the near future.

Similarly, both Morocco and Algeria, who failed to contest this years Afcon, have exciting young players and could throw up a challenge over the next two tournaments with the Moroccans hosting in 2015. But whichever region claims the title, it will be a deserving winner.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading