Antipas confident of squad


Motor Action coach Joey Antipas believes he has assembled a very strong squad that can compete for honours in the Caf Confederation Cup.

The Mighty Bulls kick-start their campaign at the preliminary stages with a nervy first leg clash away to South Africa’s Black Leopards on the weekend of February 17-18 and the return match is set for Harare two weeks later.

It will be the second time the 2010 league champions will be playing on the African safari after last year’s appearance in the Caf Champions League which however ended prematurely as the team crashed out in the first round.

While that drab show in Africa’s premier club competition was blamed from the financial difficulties Motor Action found themselves in prior to the games, the downfall had much to do with the thin player base at the team.

However, Antipas, who has already lost some of his best players from last season in Allen Gahadzikwa, Kuda Musharu, Tawanda Nyamandwe, Edmore Chitato and Ocean Mushure, has been equally busy in the transfer market.

Motor Action have managed to lure four players from Highfield United in Protasho Kabwe, Ngoni Maviri, Fortune Ncube and Isaac Madziva. Former Hwange striker Tongai Magwendere and Blue Ribbon vice-captain James Jam are also some of the big names that have joined the Mighty Bulls for the Confederation Cup, and Antipas is satisfied.

“I want to think we have a very good pool of players who can do well,” said Antipas. “It’s a mixture of youth and experience. It is my hope that the new players will adapt to the system as quickly as possible. We are going to meet as a team tomorrow (today) to map the way forward. We need to check on the players, conditions before we start the preparations.”

Antipas said he would want to play friendly matches with regional teams as preparations for the Leopards clash.

The club is expected to decide on the teams to play at a meeting scheduled for today.

M Jani, J Bernard, E Tembo, E Perezo, I Masame, M Mambare, R Machaya, R Mudimu, T Ndlovu, T Masuku, G Moyo, N Francis, G Phiri, C Mutero, J Chitereki, Y Ebabali, D Mukandi, M Kadzola, M Mburayi, T Magwendere, I Lawe, F Ncube, P Kabwe, N Maviri, I Madziva, J Jam.