HomeSportGolfTeeing off with Tavenganiswa Mabikacheche

Teeing off with Tavenganiswa Mabikacheche


Golf results December 5-11 2011 — Zimbabwe Junior Golf Association Tournaments week
The juniors are the future masters in any sport.

At the end of every school holiday, there are junior competitions which are held within the four junior provinces of Mashonaland, Matabeleland, Manicaland and Midlands.

This holiday the tournaments were held in Harare being hosted by Mashonaland Junior Golf Association.

Juniors play 36 holes per day in all their stroke-play tournaments. On Monday and Tuesday they played 72-hole Zimbabwe Junior Stroke-play Championship at the Brooke. There were two divisions, A and B. The 2011 Zimbabwe Junior Stroke-play champion is Ben Follet-Smith on a gross score of 282.

The full results by divisions of the top five are: A Division. 1 Ben Follet-Smith-282; 2 Biggie Chibvuri/Travis Smith – 291; 4 Brett Krog -298; 5 Mbongeni Maphosa -300; 6 Perkins Mutenda-301. B Division; 1 Jack Allard-336 gross; 2 Irvine Nembaware-343; 3 Clive Ekwete-350; 4 Nyasha Chuma-355; 5 David Amm-357; 6 Conrad Makoto-358.

On Wednesday, the juniors moved to Ruwa Country Club for their 2011 Future Masters championship which was a 36-hole tournament.
The 2011 Future Masters champion is once again Ben Follet-Smith on gross score of 142.

There were also two divisions, A and B. A Division results (top 6): 1 Ben Follet-Smith-142 gross; 2 Brett Krog-146; 3 Travis Smith-147; 4 Gerrad Shwabane-151/Biggie Chibvuri-151; 6 Chengetai Chikwari-152.

B Division results were 1 Jack Allard-171; 2 Simba Chigudu/Irvine Nembaware – 174: 4 Prosper Masvimbo -177; 5 David Amm-178. 6 Lennox Wasara-179.

The last tournament before Christmas was the 2011 Zimbabwe Junior Match-play Championship. It was for the top 32 players from the Zimbabwe Junior Stroke- play results at the Brooke. It was played over two days.

There were two flights, A and B. The 2011 Zimbabwe Junior Match-play Champion is Seth Greenwood. Detailed results (only for top 5): A Flight. 1 Seth Greenwood; 2 Brett Krog: 3 Ben Follet-Smith; 4 Travis Smith; 5 Jeff Chitando. B Flight: 1 Rasheed Mohamed; 2 Gerald Schmit: 3 Allen Chayambuka: 4 Jack Allard; 5 Shamiso Makwara.

Wingate Golf Club — The winners of the Wednesday club individual Stableford competition were: 1 A Wazier-39 points; 2 MMhaka-39; 3 T Cumming-38. On Saturday the game format was also an individual Stableford and the winners were: 1 A Wazier-42 points; 2, L Govinde-39; 3-M Tauya-39. On Sunday it was a big day for Gobblers Golf Society as it was their last tournament of the year.

As is their practice, there were a lot of prizes. The majority of those who made the effort to take part in their monthly tournaments were rewarded with some prizes.

It was a great day indeed. Further, on this last tournament there were two divisions according to the ages. 60-year -olds and above had their own division.

The game format was individual medal Stableford.
However, each player was to use three quarters of their handicap as handicap of the day. Winners in the Under-60 category were 1 J Duprees-36.5 points; 2 S Bechani-36.5; 3 R Magnall-36. The 60 and above winners were 1 R Mcleod-35.75; 2. L Muridzo Chitengwa-35; 3 D Prowden-32.

Falcon Golf Club — The medal competition played on Saturday was won by 1 M Munetsi-68 net; 2 E Murungweni -70; 3 DO Makumbu-72.
On Sunday the game format was individual Stableford. Winners were T Muchongwe -38 points; 2 C Kazembe -36; 3 I Chisepo-36.

Borrowdale Brooke Golf Club — The winners of the Wednesday club four-ball betterball Stableford competition which was kindly sponsored by Ram Petroleum were 1 M Kenee/CV Van Leeuwen-55 points; 2 G Fraser/O Machussen-49; 3 J Dewe/M Maison -48. There was a hole-in- one on hole 11 made by Tongesai Chingwena.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading