HomeSportSoccerFootballer of the Year to be named tonight

Footballer of the Year to be named tonight


The best player from the 2011 Castle Lager Premier Soccer League will be named tonight.

The first and second runners- up will also be revealed from the 11 finalists that were selected two weeks ago.

The Referee and Coach of the Year, Rookie and Goalkeeper of the Year are also going to be unveiled at the same occasion.

The player that will be selected for the top award will pocket a cool $5 000 while his second and third runners-up will get $3 000 and $2 000 respectively, in addition to the $1 000 they will get for just making it onto the calendar.

Coach of the Year will get
$3 500, while the Referee of the Year is assured of $2 000. His runners-up will get $1 500 and $1 000 respectively.

The Rookie and Goalkeeper of the Year will get $2 000 each.

All eyes, however, will be on who will scoop the big one with Dynamos goalkeeper Washington Arubi looking the hot favourite.

Calisto Pasuwa and Hwange’s Tenant Chilumba are tipped to go head-to-head for the Coach of the Year Award.

Pasuwa inspired Dynamos to a league and cup double after taking over from Lloyd Mutasa while Chilumba took an average squad to a top-four finish on the log, to book a place in the Caf Confederations Cup.

Morris Kadzola of Chicken Inn, Denver Mukamba and Cliff Sekete are in the running for the Rookie of the Year award.

Rodreck Mutuma, who was also outstanding, but was disqualified from the selection after accumulating six yellow cards — four for dissent — will also be presented with the Top Goalscorer award after netting 14 goals. He will get a trophy and $3 000.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading