HomeSportOther SportMasunda, Nyahora romp to victory

Masunda, Nyahora romp to victory


Luwis Masunda and Rutendo Nyahora emerged winners of the annual Nkulumane Spar 10km Fun Race held in Bulawayo yesterday morning.

The race attracted 127 athletes and started from Nkulumane Spar to Bellevue Spar and took the same route back.

Masunda was home first in 27 minutes 33,36secs to scoop the first prize of R3 500, but failed to beat last year’s record of 27 minutes one second by Wirimai Zhuwawo.

Nyahora crossed the line first in the women’s section in a time of 32 minutes 41secs and received R3 500, but also failed to beat Sharon Tavengwa’s record of 32 minutes 06,48secs from last year.

Masunda was ecstatic after winning the race.
“The race was fine. I think it was one of my best times. I came from behind and caught up with the athlete who was in front after 4km. After 6km I was leading and I maintained my pace until I finished,” he said. Nyahora said: “I feel very happy about winning the race. It was a good race as I was alone all the way until I finished.”

Jacob Mugomeri (Rimuka) romped home first in the junior men’s section clocking 28 minutes 43,71secs to get R1 000.

Sikhululekile Moyo (LM Academy) was first in the junior women’s section at a time of 36 minutes 54secs and also collected R1 000.

Veteran Elford Moyo won the men’s wheelchair race in 28 minutes 28,83secs while the women’s race was won by Dorcas Hwatira (Wheelchair Races Society) in 50 minutes 36,08secs.

Spar donated R30 000 to Silokuthula Orphanage of Nkulumane after the race.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading