Kujatana Peace Marathon moved to October


The annual Kujatana Nkubotu 21,1km Peace Half Marathon set for Binga Centre this weekend has been moved to October 22 to allow more athletes to participate.

Most of the intended targets took part in the City to City Marathon in South Africa last weekend and were against the idea of running two marathons in consecutive weeks.

Sponsor of the event, Nkululeko Sibanda, the executive chairman of diversified company Twalumba Holdings, confirmed the new date on Tuesday.

The Kujatana Nkubotu 21km Peace Half Marathon is an annual race staged by Twalumba Foundation to commemorate the International Day of Peace.

This year’s event will be held under the theme Make Your Voice Heard. In line with the theme, Twalumba Foundation is organising a mini-cultural festival to precede the marathon.

The mini festival will showcase Tonga dances and artefacts that include carvings and baskets.

Athletes taking part in this year’s edition of the Kujatana Nkubotu 21km Peace half Marathon in Binga will have their efforts recognised by the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) following the successful marking of the race route by an IAAF course marker, South African Pieter Jager, on June 18.

The 2009 winners were Cleopas Mweembe in the men’s category, while Fungai Chinyoka ruled in the ladies’ section.

Last year, veteran long distance runner Kudakwashe Shoko endured the scorching Binga heat to come out first.

The veteran marathoner, who left Binga R10 500 richer, came out first in a time of 1:0:05s to beat close contender Wirimai Zhuwao, who clocked 1:04:41s and picked up a R5 000 cheque.

Another veteran Lewis Masunda, who for a while led the pack before losing it after doing 15km, came third in 1:05:32s and was rewarded with a R2 000 cheque and behind him was Ngonidzashe Ncube (1:05.00s) and Masvingo’s Jonathan Chinyoka (1:07:04s) and they got R1 000 and R500 respectively.

In the senior women’s category the same fat cheque of R10 500 went to Netherlands-based Sharon Tawengwa who outpaced the rest of the ladies from the starting point to clock 1:17:12s followed by Rutendo Nyawora (1:19:65s).

Tabitha Tsatsa, who was also a favourite to win the race, came third in 1:24:25s while Chiedza Chokore was in fourth position in 1:28:41s and Olivia Chitate came out fifth in 1:30:13s.