HomeSportDe Souza tennis memorial on

De Souza tennis memorial on


The Bulawayo Metropolitan Tennis Board will hold a tennis tournament in honour of the late tennis player Tarryn Leigh De Souza from September 9-11.

The memorial tournament for the late Girls’ College student will be played at the Bulawayo Athletic Club, Whitestone, Girls’ College and Petra Primary schools.

It will be third time that the province will host the tournament.

Bulawayo Metropolitan Tennis Board chairman confirmed this development in an interview with NewsDay Sport Wednesday.

“We decided to have the competition because De Souza was a great tennis player. She had said she would ensure that the sport developed in Bulawayo when she returned from United States of America on a tennis scholarship, but unfortunately she passed on in 2009 because of a heart failure when she was only 24 years old,” he said.

Joelson said they felt obliged to host the tournament because of De Souza’s passion and dedication to the sport.

“She represented the province and Zimbabwe on several international tournaments. I was her coach. We felt that it is necessary for us to host the annual tournament. She was so passionate about tennis,” he said.

All the country’s provinces are expected to participate.
Joelson said they had received confirmation from Masvingo, Kwekwe, Harare and Gwanda with registration expected to end today.

The Under-10 category will play in the round-robin format while the Under-12-18 will compete on a knockout basis.

Top players from the city are set to take part in the competition.

Ronald Munzwengwa, Tinashe Kondo and Keletso Malane will be running for top spot in the competition in the boys Under-18 category.

The girls Under-18 section will see Fadzai Masawire, Natasha Mandewu, Nqobani Moyo and Thembela Ndlovu in action.

In the Under-12 girls division Tanya Magunje, Nichole Chigwada and Solethu Sibanda are set to battle it out, while Tanaka Chapapata, Tinashe Hwata and Bongani Sibanda are in the boys’ section in the same category.

Various prizes will be on offer on the day.

Brandon Lavendale was the winner in the Under-18 boys section while Senzo Maphisa claimed top post in the Under-18 girls section last year.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading