HomeSportCricketZim women in tough ICC World Cup draw

Zim women in tough ICC World Cup draw


The Zimbabwe women’s cricket team will battle it out with South Africa, Sri Lanka, Netherlands and US for the ICC Women’s World Cup qualifiers to be staged in Dhaka, Bangladesh, from November 14 –25 according to the draw released by the ICC yesterday.

Group B has hosts Bangladesh, West Indies, Pakistan, Ireland and Japan. The ten teams will battle it out for the four remaining spots at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2013, which will be hosted by India.

England, Australia, India and New Zealand have already qualified for the event by virtue of finishing in the top four at the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2009.

Zimbabwe booked their place for the final qualifying tournament after finishing second behind South Africa during the African division qualifying tournament staged in Kenya in December last year.

Zimbabwe beat Tanzania and Uganda before losing to Kenya and South Africa in the round robin phase, but still qualified for the final where they were well beaten by 218 runs by the South Africans.

Zimbabwe Cricket announced a 20-strong provisional squad in April after selecting players from the domestic inter-franchise tournament held at Old Hararians and Sunrise Sports Club in Harare, which was dominated by Southern Rocks.

The qualifiers will be played at four venues across the Bangladesh capital Dhaka.

Group A: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Zimbabwe and US

Group B: West Indies, Pakistan, Ireland, Japan, Bangladesh

Zimbabwe’s provisional squad: Ruvarashe Chinyemba, Julia Chibhabha, Precious Marange, Sharye Saili, Thandolwenkosi Mlilo, Nonhlanhla Nyathi, Sharne Meyers, Ashley Burdett, Ashley Ndiraya, Sarah Dambanevana, Sinikiwe Mpofu, Chipo Mugeri, Pellagia Mujaji, Christabel Chatonzwa, Nyasha Gauzeni, Monalisa Chimutashu, Tazmeen Granger, Loreen Tshuma, Audrey Mazvishaya, Privilege Charumbira

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading