HomeSportCricketJunior cricket teams in South Africa

Junior cricket teams in South Africa


The Zimbabwe Under-17 and Under-15 teams left the country early this week for South Africa, where they will take part in the Eastern Junior Club Cricket Association tournament.

Zimbabwe will battle it out with provincial teams from the host nation South Africa, national teams from Swaziland, Namibia and Botswana, who will be represented in both age-groups at the tournament.

The objective of such tours at junior level is not only to increase the youngsters’ experience but also help develop their standard of play which will be passed on to their teammates at school level.

Zimbabwe Cricket’s National Development manager Nick Nsingo said the exposure the youngsters would gain from the tournament would be of immeasurable value as they prepare for higher age group categories like the Under-19s.

“This is a very important tournament for our boys especially the Under-17s.

“It is part of a series of preparatory activities leading to the Under-19 World Cup and we will treat such events with the utmost respect,” said Nsingo.

Under-17: Tarisai Musakanda, Odicious Manje, Shaun Handirisi, Luke Jongwe, Joylord Gumbie, Keagan Higgins, Rhett Wallbridge, Devon Bell, Charles Kunje, Andre Odendaal, Ryan Burl, Malcolm Lake, Lionel Pedzisai

Under-15: Courtney Archer, David Brent, Farai Kavene, Gary King, John Mlambo, Tafara Mupariwa, Shawn Nyamusa, Shane Snater, Tinashe Taibu, Brandon Watson, Joshua Worsley, Takudzwa Zimhindo, Ngoni Zinyama

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading