HomeSportRugbySchools rugby team off to Craven Week in SA

Schools rugby team off to Craven Week in SA


The Zimbabwe Schools rugby team will leave the country on Saturday for this year’s edition of the Coca-Cola Craven Week Youth Rugby Tournament in Kimberley, South Africa.

This year’s edition of the Coca-Cola Craven Week tournament will take place from Saturday next week to July 18 and will be hosted by the GWK Griqualand West Rugby Union.

Zimbabwe and Namibia are the only countries sending their Under-18 national teams to the tournament, which is considered one of the world’s largest rugby schoolboy festivals in the world.

Zimbabwe open their campaign with a clash against Border Country Districts in Diamant Veld High on Tuesday.

The players in the team will be out to impress coach Goodwin Murambiwa to be considered for the Zimbabwe Under-19 team to take part in the Confederation of Africa Rugby Under-19 African Championships to be hosted in the country later this month.

Lomagundi’s Gareth Meikle and Kyle College’s Takudzwa Chieza are the only survivors from last year’s Craven Week side players, while traditional powerhouses Prince Edward have one player in elusive flanker Tapiwa Tsomondo.

The Craven Week tournament has become an integral part of the local rugby calendar, with the bulk of the players in the national teams having at one time or another featured at the tournament.

Some of the big names who represented Zimbabwe at the tournament and went on to make a name for themselves at the highest level include Springboks’ Brian Mujati, Tendai Mtawarira and Tonderai Chavanga, only to mention a few.

Zimbabwe Under-18 team: Joshua Smallborne (St John’s College), Rees Surtees (St George’s), Andries Van Heerden (Falcon), Bruk Jackson (Lomagundi), Ryan Zeederberg (Peterhouse), Daniel Rorke (St John’s College), Tapiwa Tsomondo (Prince Edward), Gareth Meikle (Lomagundi), Robbie Sargeant (Falcon), Delroy Masiyarira (Hillcrest), Brian Ndudzo (Peterhouse), Andrew Wilkinson (St John’s College), Takudzwa Chieza (Kyle), Wilson Seremani (St John’s College), Kudakwashe Makuvire (St George’s), Kuda Makanza (Peterhouse), Tatenda Zinyemba (St George’s), Kevin Merrington (St John’s College).

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading