HomeNewsBancABC Sup8r draw on tomorrow

BancABC Sup8r draw on tomorrow


Eight teams go into the hat tomorrow for the 2011 edition of the BancABC Super Eight when the banking giant conducts the draw.

The tournament will feature the top eight teams from last season — Motor Action, defending champions, Dynamos, Highlanders, Gunners, Hwange, Caps United, Monomotapa and Shabanie Mine, with the first four seeded.

BancABC, which has tightened its rules after last year’s Highlanders-Dynamos debacle, will take the beautiful game of football to smaller areas that include Hwange, Chiredzi and Kwekwe. Dynamos will play in Chiredzi while Highlanders will play their quarter-final in Kwekwe.

The first quarter-finals will be played next weekend, the second on the weekend of July 9-10. The semi-finals and final will be staged in August, with the winners taking home a cool $50 000.

There were fears that BancABC would walk away from the Premiership following the chaos that rocked the $200 000 tournament last year.

BancABC were dragged into the mud when the semi-final pitting Highlanders against Dynamos was abandoned at Barbourfields.

The impasse over the abandoned match raged on and a Premiership arbitration committee was set up to look into the issue.

The committee ruled in favour of Dynamos, awarding them the game on 3-0 scoreline. This did not go down well with Bosso who took the matter to court before eventually pulling out of the tournament.

The chaos also led to the resignation of Highlanders chairman Themba Ndlela as vice-chairman of the Premier Soccer League. He was replaced by Joseph Zulu from Hwange, although his confirmation is yet to be made.

Despite all this chaos, BancABC has committed itself to bankroll another dance with the Premiership.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading