HomeSportGolfZim golfer wins Zambia Ladies’ Open

Zim golfer wins Zambia Ladies’ Open


Zimbabwean Claire Minter has scooped the 2011 Zambia Ladies’ Golf Open stroke championships after grossing 230 from 54 holes played in a three-day event held at Chainama Golf Club, closely trailed by Zambia’s Kaela Mulenga.

Mulenga, of Roan in Luanshya, who led the first and second rounds, missed the 2011 championship title by three to settle for the runner-up position from a field of 25 amateur golfers drawn from Botswana, Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Uganda.

The Silver Division championship for the 13-20 Handicap was scooped by Lorna Mwenda, of Chainama, after a count back on a 262 gross she shared with Lusaka’s Carol Masisani from 54 holes.

Lusaka club’s Sarah Mukosa settled for the third slot after a count back, consigning Miliase Siame of Mufulira club to fourth in the Silver Division, which is also the Costain Cup, on 270 gross while the bronze was won by Mutinta Maimbo on 277 gross.

The Cynthia Howell memorial trophy, 0-36 handicap, was won by Masisani on 213 nett while Mukosa was the runner-up, relegating the 11-year-old Jahannvie Wallia to third after count back.

The team event, the Phyl Sammons trophy played over 18 holes, went to the Lusaka A comprising Tina Nawa, Dolly Mbabara, Veronica Mpheneka and Mukosa on 215 nett, with the runners-up team, Lusaka C having Sashkia Roesinc, Nan Kennedy, Wallia and Violet Nyakunzu on 221 gross.

The Lusaka B team, comprising Hilda Edwards, Masisani, Pasinne Tomita and Abby Melvin finished third on 223 gross.

The Benningsfield Rose Bowl, a subsidiary event, was won by Maimbo while Ann Pangani, (Tanzania), Masasini, Matilda Achiume (Chilanga) and Lynette Simuchimba (Nkana) finished as joint runners-up with Masisani scooping the Stableford on 45 points and Mpheneka and Walia jointly shared the runners-up place.

In the senior lady golfers’ society category, Edwards won the Pam Barker trophy on 214 gross while Mukosa got the Maria Murray Trophy on 213 Nett and Bastira Tilowakuti won the Nora Jordan shield in the Junior category on 252 gross.

Chainama’s Kekelwa Kwalombota won the nearest to the pin while Bhavi Shah from Kenya won the longest drive.

Previous articleZifa seek Puma deal
Next articleHero Tekere dies

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading