HomeSportSoccerZim bids for Fifa Women’s World Cup

Zim bids for Fifa Women’s World Cup


Zimbabwe are in the race to host the Women’s World Cup in 2015, according to football’s world governing body Fifa.

The country is up against only one rival candidate – Canada – and the successful bidder will also stage the 2014 U-20 women’s event.

The local football association Zifa has faced administrative chaos recently and allegations of match-fixing have been made against the national team.

Germany stage the next Women’s World Cup finals, which kick off in June.

Fifa also says Ghana and Tunisia have bid for the right to host a number of major tournaments.

Ghana are bidding to host the U-17 World Cup in 2013 and the U-17 women’s competition in 2014 while Tunisia have bid for the U-17 World Cup in 2015 and the U-20 event in 2015.

Final bid documents for all the tournaments have to be lodged with Fifa by February 11 and a decision will be made at the beginning of March.

At the beginning of March, Fifa will announce the hosts of seven competitions to be staged between 2013 and 2015.

Overall, 21 bids have been registered by 14 different member associations, representing all six football confederations.

“Such a large and diverse level of interest in both Fifa’s women’s and youth competitions demonstrates the attractiveness of our events,” said Fifa secretary-general Jérôme Valcke.

“Our member associations often look to utilise these competitions as a catalyst for further promoting and developing football in their countries. We have received bids from around the globe, including some member associations who have previously hosted one or more Fifa competitions, and others who are bidding for the first time. Once again this process shows the universal appeal of our game.”

The biggest tournament in question is the Fifa Women’s World Cup 2015, for which Canada and Zimbabwe are the two bidding associations. The winning association will also play host to the Fifa U-20 Women’s World Cup 2014.

The bidders for the five other competitions, in chronological order, are as follows:

Fifa U-17 World Cup 2013: Ghana and United Arab Emirates (UAE)

Fifa U-20 World Cup 2013: Turkey, UAE and Uzbekistan

Fifa U-17 Women’s World Cup 2014: Costa Rica, Ghana, Macedonia, Russia, UAE and Uzbekistan
Fifa U-17 World Cup 2015: Chile, Russia, Tunisia and Wales

Fifa U-20 World Cup 2015: New Zealand, Peru, Tunisia and Wales All associations have until February 11 to submit their signed hosting agreements, together with their complete bid books.

The respective hosts of the six competitions will be appointed by the Fifa committee on March 2 -3 2011. —

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading