HomeSportRugbySibanda guns for ZRU re-election

Sibanda guns for ZRU re-election


Only two nominations had been received on Thursday ahead of Zimbabwe Rugby Union’s annual general meeting (AGM) on Sunday with incumbent Themba Sibanda seeking re-election to the president’s post.

Sibanda and District Dragons’ chairman John Falkenburg were nominated by Harare province for the presidency and vice-president (North) respectively.

With the deadline set for today the union was yet to receive the nominations from the other provinces and affiliated members for the vice-president (South) where Dave Nash won the mandate last year.

The elections are scheduled at the sport’s governing body’s AGM at Old Hararians on Sunday where the delegates will appoint the new board before hearing the president and treasurer’s reports.

Sibanda said he would be standing for re-election for a third and final one year term in office as required by the current constitution. Last year Sibanda beat Theo Weale by five votes to two.

“Yes, I will be standing for re-election for the third and last time as per our constitution which allows the president to stand for three one-year terms. The current 12-month term is clearly not enough to change anything,” said Sibanda.

The current board is made up of Sibanda, the president, Judith Chiyangwa vice-president (North), Dave Nash vice-president (South), treasurer Ngoni Mudzamiri, Reg Querl (Schools), and Cathrine Sibanda from women’s rugby. The other board members are Weale (Matabeleland), Sifiso Made (Harare), Modric Makotose (development) and Mart Wiles of the Zimbabwe Rugby Referees’ Society.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading