HomeSportRugbyRugby union to hold elections

Rugby union to hold elections


The ZRU board is made up of the president Themba Sibanda and Judith Chiyangwa (vice -president north) and Dave Nash (vice-president south).

The other board members are Noble Mhlanga (Harare), Theo Weale (Matabeleland), Catherine Sibanda (women), Ngoni Mudzamiri (treasurer), Losson Mtongwiza (Goshawks), Marty Wiles (Zimbabwe Rugby Referees Society (ZRRS), Reg Querl (head of schools) and Moderick Makotose (development).

Themba Sibanda, will have one more year in office if he wins this election. He was re-elected as president after beating Weale in May last year.

Sibanda said union’s finances would also be discussed at the meeting. “Nominations have started trickling in from the various provinces. The audited accounts for 2010 will also be presented as we prepare for next year.

“The board will also discuss preparations for the Under-20 team which will be taking part at the Junior Rugby World Trophy in Georgia in April and the Sables who will take part in the second edition of the of the tri-nations Victoria Cup and the CAR Africa Cup,” he said.

Sibanda took over the association when it was facing serious financial problems and only relied on grants from the International Rugby Board.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading