HomeSportSoccerChicken Inn to be honoured

Chicken Inn to be honoured


Buscod Zifa Southern Region Division One Soccer League champions Chicken Inn will be honoured for making it to the Premiership this Saturday at Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo.

Chicken Inn won the championship with four matches remaining in the league, losing only one game and drawing two out of 30 games, finishing the season with 83 points.

The champions will on Saturday walk away with $12 000, courtesy of the league’s sponsors, Buscod Supermarkets.

The second prize of $7 000 will go Quelaton, who amassed 67 points, winning 21, drawing four and losing five matches.

On the number three spot, Railstars will pocket $5 000 after garnering 65 points, also winning 21 games, drawing two matches and losing seven.

Zimbabwe Saints, who missed out on a return to top-flight league action after a botched franchise deal with relegated Premiership side FC Victoria, took fourth position and will be rewarded with $4 000.

Another formidable side in the 2010 Buscod Zifa Southern Region Division One Soccer League, ZPC Hwange, who came from Division Two and managed to land the number five spot will walk away with $3 000.

All the teams that participated in the league will not go empty-handed as Kujatana on number six will get $2 200, Sao Paulo — $1 800, Makokoba City Warriors — $1 600, New West City — $1 500, Ntabazinduna Prison — $1 400, Discovery — $1 300, and Victoria Falls United, who survived relegation by a whisker, will pocket $1 200.

Relegated sides Mpumalanga, Khami United, Luveve Big XI and Zupco will each receive $1 000. The Coach of the Year and Top Goal Scorer of the Year will each walk away with $1 500 while the Fair Play Award is pegged at $1 000.

Railstars’ coach Mandla Mpofu, who is also the Under-20 assistant coach, is heavily tipped to scoop the Coach of the Year award, although Chicken Inn boss Philani Ncube is a serious contender.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading