HomeSportSoccerCaf inter-clubs competition draw date set

Caf inter-clubs competition draw date set


Dynamos and Motor Action will know their opponents in the 2011 edition of the Orange Champions League on December 19 when the Confederation of African Football (Caf) hold the inter-clubs draw in Cairo, Egypt.

The Mighty Bulls, leaders in the Premier Soccer League, but tied on 60 points with Dynamos, will be making their debut in the African safari while for DeMbare, it’s a return to a competition they have made a point to participate in yearly.

Caf sent a notification to all national associations on Tuesday:

“The Confederation of African Football (Caf) will hold the draw for the 2011 inter-clubs competitions on Sunday, December 19 in Cairo, Egypt. Over 100 clubs from the 53 national associations affiliated to Caf will be involved in the draw for the two club championships: Orange Caf Champions League and the Orange Caf Confederation Cup.”

The deadline for registration of participation in the 2011 continental club championships was Tuesday, November 30 where Zifa was negotiating with Highlanders and Gunners to fill the other two slots in the Confederations Cup to no avail.

On Tuesday, Zifa acting chief executive officer Jonathan Mashingaidze said they had asked for an extension from Caf to register two teams for the Confederations Cup since the league had not been concluded.

“They then gave us up to 18 December, but I will have a definite answer tomorrow (Tuesday) on the negotiations with the clubs. I will also be communicating with the Caf competitions department on the same issue.”

TP Mazembe of DR Congo are the current champions of the Orange Caf Champions League and Morocco’s FUS Rabat for the Orange Caf Confederations Cup.

Caf has also released the entry procedures for Caf club competitions for the 2011 season.

It calculates points based on the clubs’ performance over the last five years in the Orange Champions League and Orange Confederation Cup, not taking into considering the running year.

The top 12 countries ranked over the period 2005-2009 earn the right to engage two clubs in each Caf club competition for the year 2011.

Based on the above criteria, the following table highlights the top 12 countries: Tunisia, Egypt, Nigeria, Sudan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Algeria, Morocco, Mali, Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Angola and Zimbabwe.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading