HomeSportAthleticsHAC hosts 20 miler

HAC hosts 20 miler


More than 500 athletes are expected to take part in the 40th edition of the Harare Athletic Club’s Europcar/South African Airways 20 Miler December 5.

A statement from the HAC said the race-32 km — will start at the 13km peg on the Shamva Road, climb steadily up to Glen Lorne, and undulates to Old Georgians Sports Club, the home of HAC.

Past winners include many greats from the past including Joseph Mitshipisi winner in 1985 in 1.43.42, Esau Magwaza winner in 1981 in 1.44.22 as well as the likes of Brian Sheriff, Tap Jonga and Nicholas Nyengerai.

Multiple Comrades winner Stephen Muzhingi is also a past winner having won the race in 2003.The 2008 event was won by Nkosana Sibanda in a time of 1.44.53. Sibanda went onto finish a creditable 17th in the London Marathon in 2009.

Last year’s men’s winner was Luwis Masunda in a time of 1.43.39 beating Jonathan Chinyoka in a tight finish. Chinyoka finished in a time of 1.43.48 and the open race for women was won by Olivia Chitate in a time of 2.15.27. Her closest challenger was Chiedza Chokore in a time of 2.17.55. All are expected to run in this year’s event.

The wheelchair category last year was won by Edmond Makutya in a time of 1.57.48 with Elford Moyo second in a time of 2.04.00. Both athletes will take part at this year’s event.

The first 20 Miler was held in 1971.

There were 28 entrants and 24 starters. The men’s record is still held by Paul Moqhali of Swaziland in a time of 1.42.30(1991) and the ladies record by Debbie Lambourn of Zimbabwe in a time of 2.07.19 in 1998.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading