HomeSportCricketZim nominated for Spirit of Cricket Award

Zim nominated for Spirit of Cricket Award


Zimbabwe has been nominated for the International Cricket Council (ICC) Spirit of Cricket Award alongside India, New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

While still not playing Test cricket, Zimbabwe Cricket led by Peter Chingoka, has made tremendous strides in preparing a team for an eventual return early next year.

Zimbabwe has hosted India and Sri Lanka in a tri-nations series while Ireland is in the country for the ICC Inter-continental Cup which started at the Harare Sports Club on Monday.

Sachin Tendulkar leads the nominations for the seventh ICC awards as the only cricketer to have been short-listed in all the three major categories.

India opener Virender Sehwag, South Africa’s middle-order batsman Hashim Amla and England offspinner Graeme Swann are the other names in the marquee Cricketer of the Year shortlist.

Amla and Sehwag were also nominated for the Test Cricketer of the Year award, along with South Africa seamer Dale Steyn.

Two Australians – seamer Ryan Harris and allrounder Shane Watson – and South Africa’s middle-order batsman AB de Villiers completed the shortlist for the ODI award, along with Tendulkar.

Tendulkar was in prolific form during the assessment period – August 24 2009 to August 10 2010 – scoring 1 064 runs in 10 Tests, and 914 runs in 17 ODIs, including the first double-century in the history of the format.

Ricky Ponting, the Australian captain who was the top ODI run-scorer during the assessment period, was dropped from both the Player of the Year and ODI long lists.

Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene won two Twenty20 nominations for his knocks against Zimbabwe and West Indies in the World Twenty20, while Brendon McCullum and Michael Hussey were also shortlisted for batting performances. South Africa seamer Ryan McLaren was the only bowler to figure in the list of five.

This year’s awards ceremony, which will be hosted in Bangalore on October 6, comprise nine individual prizes and three team awards.

The shortlists
Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Virender Sehwag, Graeme Swann and Sachin Tendulkar
Test Player of the Year: Hashim Amla, Virender Sehwag, Dale Steyn and Sachin Tendulkar
ODI Player of the Year: Ryan Harris, Sachin Tendulkar , AB de Villiers, Shane Watson
Emerging Player of the Year: Umar Akmal, Steven Finn, Angelo Mathews and Tim Paine
Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Michael Hussey 60* v Pakistan, Mahela Jayawardene 100 v Zimbabwe, Mahela Jayawardene 98* v West Indies, Ryan McLaren 5-19 v West Indies and Brendon McCullum 116* v Australia.
Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Tony Hill and Simon Taufel
Spirit of Cricket: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. — Cricinfo

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading