HomeSportCricketBrian Lara lauds ZC

Brian Lara lauds ZC


The 2010 CBZ Bank awards gala night on Friday was an event which most local cricketers will cherish for the better part of their careers.

The guest of honour at the annual event Brian Lara had some priceless words of advice for the few players who graced the event.

He even suggested that more cricketers should have been encouraged to attend future events of this nature after he noticed that only a few were present.

“It’s an important night for Zimbabwean cricket and in the future more cricketers should attend these functions to represent the nature of the game in the country,” Lara said.

Judging by what Lara said his nostalgic and inspirational speech; he certainly had some words of encouragement for the current local crop of players.

The Trinidad and Tobago born superstar said: “I had the unique opportunity of playing against some of Zimbabwe’s former greats like Andy Waller, Dave Houghton, Kevin Curran, Andy Pycroft, Heath Streak and many others.

“I have also played alongside some of the current crop of players in the national team at the moment like Vusi Sibanda, Ray Price, Tatenda Taibu and Hamilton Masakadza.

“My message to the current crop of players is that there are important attributes that are key in every professional cricketer’s career which also helped me during my career.

“It is not just about the talent but you should have self belief, discipline, self respect, desire, love for the game and confidence. This should not just be limited to the players they should also inspire the administrators, coaches and sponsors,” said Lara.

Lara said Zimbabwe would have a better season as some former international stars like Allan Donald, Jason Gillespie and Monty Lynch had decided to contribute to the development of the local game.

Full list of Awards
Cricketer of the Year — Elton Chigumbura
Batsman of the Year — Vusi Sibanda
Bowler of the Year — Graeme Cremer
Best Schools Cricketer — Tino Mutombodzi
Administrator of the Year — Kevin Atkinson
Umpire of the Year — Russel Tiffin
Most Promising Cricketer — Tendai Chatara
Rookie of the Year — Tendai Chatara
Coach of the Year — Steve Mangongo
Female cricketer of the Year — Sharne Meyers
Scorer of the Year — Sithembile Singo
Groundsman of the Year — Silvia Munyama
Best Administered Franchise — Southern Rocks
Franchise Team of the Year — Mountaineers
Provincial Association of the Year — Midlands

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading